National Parks

Discover the beauty of Iceland's stunning national treasures

Iceland has 3 main national parks: Þingvellir (Thingvellir), Snæfellsjökull (Snaefellsjokull) and Vatnajökull (Vatnajokull) National Park, which now includes Jökulsárgljúfur (Jokulsargljufur) around the river Jökulsá á Fjöllum (Jokulsa a Fjollum) in the North, and Skaftafell in the South.

National parks in Iceland are protected areas, unique due to their singular nature and landscape features, indigenous flora and fauna, and important cultural and historical heritage. Everyone is free to explore the national parks of Iceland.

Shortcuts in header